Visibility group auto-assignment for items and inventory

Admins and Super Admins can assign permissions for group auto assignment for items and inventory to roles. To verify or assign item and inventory auto assignment permissions, go to Admin console > Roles & Permissions.

In the Entity tab, select Group and set the role permissions for orders, shipments, and locations.

  • View & edit: Have permission to auto-assign visibility groups for items, shipments, and locations.
  • No permissions: Do not have permission to auto-assign visibility groups for items, shipments, and locations.

roles and permissions_item and inventory auto assignment.png

Auto-assignment for Items and Inventory

The following configurations must be configured for each tenant (they are tenant based).

Item Customer (Account) Visibility Group Auto-Assignment

With admin permissions or higher, users can configure how they want groups to be assigned to items during creation Admin console > Settings > Items > Visibility groups.

items_visibility_group_settings.png
Automatically assign the following visibility groups to items has two toggles:

  • Account’s visibility groups
    • If the toggle is ON (it is ON by default), the item’s customer visibility groups are automatically assigned to the item. 
    • If the toggle is switched to OFF, none of the item’s customer visibility groups will be auto-assigned to the item unless there is a default customer visibility group.
  • Location’s visibility groups 
    • If the toggle is ON, the item’s location visibility groups will be automatically assigned to the item. 
    • If the toggle is switched to OFF (it is OFF by default), none of the item’s location visibility groups will be auto-assigned to the item unless there is a default location visibility group.

Inventory Customer (Account) and Item Visibility Group Auto-Assignment

With admin permissions or higher, users can also configure how they want visibility groups to be assigned to inventory during creation Admin console > Settings > Inventory > Visibility groups.

inventory_visibility_group_settings.png

Automatically assign the following visibility groups to inventory has two toggles:

  • Account’s visibility groups
    • If the toggle is ON (it is ON by default), the customer visibility groups are automatically assigned to your inventory. 
    • If the toggle is switched to OFF, none of the customer visibility groups will be auto-assigned to your inventory unless there is a default customer visibility group.
  • Item’s visibility groups 
    • If the toggle is ON (it is ON by default), the item’s visibility groups will be automatically assigned to your inventory. 
    • If the toggle is switched to OFF, none of the item’s location visibility groups will be auto-assigned to your inventory unless there is a default item visibility group.

 

 

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful